ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Anna Loseva

Introducing… Anna Loseva

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Anna Loseva…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

My name is Anna Loseva and I’m a Russian teacher of the English language in my native Moscow, Russia. I teach English to undergraduate and postgraduate students of physics at Moscow State University. Here at the English department of Physics Faculty I also help design materials for English courses, and I’ve already had one course book published. I also give in-company classes of General English, Business English and ESP to adult learners. I’m proud to be an iTDi Associate, this community means the world to me!

610011What is your teaching background?

I started teaching (well, tutoring) when I was in my second year at the pedagogical university. Since that time I’ve taught at all stages of education, except pre-school, and I’ve grown to realize where I belong as a teacher, where I can do my best. I enjoy working with university students because they are curious, broad-minded and open for any initiative I have in mind. I take pleasure in teaching adults as this is always an exciting two-way process. I teach and I learn so much from every one of them, from all of their past experiences, from all of their current needs that we aim to meet together.

Tell us a bit about your session.

In my teaching I pay a lot of attention to students’ feedback on their classroom experience. One day I was reading through the questionnaires they’d filled out and got an impression that their responses could describe our lessons from three perspectives. I called those three atmosphere, attitude and alternative, and in my session will try to explain what each of them entails, as well as illustrate them with practical activities I’ve done in class. Hope that will make sense and be enjoyable =)

Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

Frankly speaking, I don’t even know if my session can fall into some particular area of ELT. To me, it has a lot to do with the emotional aspect of a lesson, while it’s basically an outcome of reflective practice of my students and myself which I want to share and discuss with fellow-teachers.

What are three words that sum up your session?

I prepared for this question quite in advance, when making up the title. My three As are the three words. Atmosphere. Attitude. Alternative.

Do you blog? Tell us about it?

I do blog, however occasionally that comes, at www.annloseva.wordpress.com. You can also check my blog posts for iTDi Blog here itdi.pro/blog/author/anna/.

Can we find you on Twitter or Facebook?

You’re very welcome to follow me on Twitter (@AnnLoseva) and on Facebook (Ann Loseva www.facebook.com/ann.loseva).

Have you been to Turkey before or is this your first time?

I’ve been to Turkey twice before, one of those two times at an ELT conference at Yildiz Technical University in December 2012. Istanbul is a very attractive city for me and a very convenient location for conferences which I can attend! I’m definitely going to be back again and again. Thank you and see you very soon!

Leave a Reply

