ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Jane Arnold

Introducing… Jane Arnold

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Jane Arnold…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

As long as I can remember I have wanted to teach. One reason I enjoy teaching so much is that in every class I learn something myself. When I’m not teaching, I like to write, to ride my bike, to meet with friends… and to think about my next class.

610014What is your teaching background?

I’ve taught English and language teaching methodology at the University of Seville in Spain for more than 25 years and I’ve worked with teachers of English and Spanish in many parts of the world.

Tell us a bit about your sessions.

In my keynote session we’ll be looking at the importance of confidence for developing competence in language learning because the way learners see themselves and see their learning can make a real difference.

In my workshop session I’d like to share ways to use a wonderful resource which is always available, always useful and free: mental imagery.

Why are you interested in the areas you’ll be presenting on?

In my teaching and my research I am especially interested in aspects of the affective factors in language learning because I have found that attention to affect can make the learning process more effective.

What should your audience expect to learn?

Some background knowledge about the topics but also many activities to take into the classroom.

Which other presenter(s) are you looking forward to seeing?

All of them!

Have you been to Turkey before or is this your first time?

I’ve been to Istanbul 3 times to work with the Cervantes Institute.

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

The opportunity to return to a city I really enjoy and to meet old friends and make new ones.

Leave a Reply

Fins us on Facebook

