ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Jerome Bush

Introducing… Jerome Bush

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Jerome Bush…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am from San Francisco California. I have been in Istanbul for about three years. I like it here and plan on hanging around for a while. I play tennis poorly, but enjoy it immensely, even though I haven’t been playing much lately.

610008What is your teaching background?

I bounced around in Japan for a while, but I think I really developed as a teacher when I was teaching in an university prep program in the U.S.

Tell us a bit about your session.

Many of us know the maxim, “give a man a fish and he eats for a day, teach a man to fish and he eats for a lifetime.” In second language acquisition, this is akin to teaching strategies. My focus is on vocabulary acquisition.

Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

More teaching and learning in less time is always good as far as I am concerned. I like vocabulary. I am not sure why.

What should your audience expect to learn?

You will learn of review some methods and reasons for using different methods. I hope participants will adopt a strategic view towards vocabulary acquisition.

What are three words that sum up your session?

Strategic vocabulary fun

Which other presenter(s) are you looking forward to seeing?

One of the sad things about presenting is that it is harder to see other sessions. However, I will go to as many sessions as I can.

Do you blog? Tell us about it?

I have this impression that keeping a blog is a lot of responsibility and takes a lot of time. Somebody please convince me I am wrong.

Can we find you on Twitter or Facebook?

I don’t like facebook very much. I have no interest in timelines and Farmville. I am on twitter @bushjerome

Have you been to Turkey before or is this your first time?

This is my first time, but I have been here for three years.

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

Networking – talking about language with people who love language. Adding you to my PLN. Discovering new things that put my mind on fire.

Leave a Reply

Fins us on Facebook

