ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Stacey Kaya

Introducing… Stacey Kaya

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Stacey Kaya…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am married and a mother of three. I reside in Istanbul with my family and work in one of the Çınar Schools. I am an American. I have been living in Istanbul, Turkey for 10 years.

What is your teaching background?

I have 10 years experience teaching English as a second language.
I have specialized in teaching young learners for 9 years.
I worked in a program to aid children with disabilities in the USA for 3 years prior to that.

Tell us a bit about your session.

My session is a compilation of proven story telling techniques that are used currently in today’s classroom. I will perform stories and dramatize songs that appeal to children and the “child” in all of us as well. I encourage audience participation.

610006Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

In all the years I have been teaching, I have found that I have had most success with storytelling and drama. My classrooms are filled with lively students, who love to attend the lessons, fight to participate, view English as a treat and not a punishment and most importantly are happy. I’m happy! Happy children bring happy results. What more could a teacher ask for?

What should your audience expect to learn?

Simply put, what works! Teachers are given the course books to teach with but worry about how to apply them in the classroom. They are overwhelmed. The trainers that are sent from the publishers fall short demonstrating how to use the books because they are not in everyday practice with students. They cannot give you that hands on experience that is so vital to keeping the class alive, alert and involved. I believe I can help and that’s what drives me to want to participate in this convention.

What are three words that sum up your session?

I need four words. Techniques, drama, creativity and most importantly FUN!

Which other presenter(s) are you looking forward to seeing?

I’d like to see them all! Everyone brings something new we can learn from and every presentation is valuable to me.

Can we find you on Twitter or Facebook?

Yes.

Have you been to Turkey before or is this your first time?

I visited Turkey three times before settling here.

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

When I am not doing a workshop, I hope to see as many workshops as I can. I am excited to have so many talented people sharing their expertise all in one place. I am hoping to make connections with others in my field and look forward to learning from them.

Leave a Reply

Fins us on Facebook

