ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Hakan Şentürk

Introducing… Hakan Şentürk

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Hakan Şentürk…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

My name is Hakan Şentürk and I have been a teacher for as long as I know myself. I graduated from the ELT department at Anadolu University and wrote my MATEFL thesis on Computer Assisted Language Instruction. Since then I have been working on how educational technologies could make the language teaching process more real and effective. I can say it’s been a long and exciting ride so far…

610018What is your teaching background?

I have been teaching English to university level students for 20 years now. Currently, I work as an editor and tech advisor at Yeditepe University School of Foreign Languages Writing Center. I also give educational technologies courses to ELT students at our university. At the same time, I am an instructor at Education Faculty ELT Certificate Program.

Tell us a bit about your session.

My session is about digital tools you can use to share classroom content with your students. These tools are important because they help teachers share digital content that has been covered in the classroom. In addition, these tools are also useful to provide students with immediate feedback about their assignments and studies.

Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

I have been interested in educational technologies since the late 80s because I believed that these tools would somehow be integrated to the language classroom. Now, we can see that learners are equipped with all kinds of digital gadgets which are connected to the Internet. Also, classrooms now have Internet and projectors. We should make sure that the right tools are used effectively and meaningfully.

What should your audience expect to learn?

I will show them what tools can be used to share classroom content with their students and I will demonstrate some techniques and strategies on how to use these in their classrooms.

What are three words that sum up your session?

Sharing Digital Content

Which other presenter(s) are you looking forward to seeing?

I am very excited about Sugata Mitra’s plenary. In addition, it’s always a pleasure to see Herbert Puchta. I am also curious about Willy Cardoso’s session.

Do you blog? Tell us about it?

I do blog occasionally, especially about certain issues that I find intriguing in the language learning and teaching world. The blog address is:

www.hakansblog.com

Can we find you on Twitter or Facebook?

I still try to keep my Facebook account for my private life (still holding on to that as long as I can!). However, I am on Twitter professionally. You can find me at:

@hakan_sentrk

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

The social events of course. Especially the open mic evening where we will see some ELT stars singing and playing.

Leave a Reply

Fins us on Facebook

