ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Suzanne Mordue

Introducing… Suzanne Mordue

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Suzanne Mordue…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am an e-learning consultant working as part of the British Council global teacher development team. I love to learn new things and I have tried to keep up-to-date with the dynamic shifts in classroom practice that have occurred in the last decade or so due to the growth of technology and online learning tools. I am addicted to my iPad but also love low-tech and like to spend my weekends drawing, painting and doing craftwork.

610001What is your teaching background?

My background is in learning technologies and teacher training. I originally trained for the higher-education sector but I had to quickly adapt my skills when I moved abroad to teach English and I had a class of two-year-olds. I have taught and trained in Korea, Japan, Slovakia and Turkey. I have also written articles for the LearnEnglish newspaper series and in-house course materials for teaching IELTS, teaching teenagers and English for teachers while working at the British Council.

Tell us a bit about your session.

This session will inform teachers about action research, give examples and lead them towards conducting their own action research project. I hope that there will be a follow up on a social networking site so we can support each other in our development.

Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

I am a huge advocate of action research as this is how I developed my skills in the eclectic world of ELT teaching. To be successful in the field you have to fulfill a number of roles: learner, researcher, materials writer, apart from being a teacher. I have also seen how action research impacts on other teachers, building their confidence and leading to an ethos of lifelong learning.

What should your audience expect to learn?

How to aid their own development or how to support the development of teachers they work with. Not all teachers have a mentor and also not all mentors are trained how to provide the best advice. The system of action research provides a framework that can be followed.

What are three words that sum up your session?

Research to develop

Which other presenter(s) are you looking forward to seeing?

Sugata Mitra – I was so excited to see that he was coming to Turkey.

Do you blog? Tell us about it?

suzannemordue.wordpress.com/

Can we find you on Twitter or Facebook?

@mauddew

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

I love the buzz of this conference and I am looking forward to stealing a few ideas to share with other teachers.

Leave a Reply

Fins us on Facebook

