ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Claire Hart

Introducing… Claire Hart

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Claire Hart…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

Originally from the UK, I´m a teacher of Business English and English for Specific Purposes (ESP) based in Bavaria, Germany. I love getting together with other teachers to share ideas and resources at conferences like iSTEK. I´m particularly interested in technology and teaching methodologies and how I can use both of these as tools to deliver a more rewarding classroom experience for my learners.

610019What is your teaching background?

I´ve taught in a range of contexts. Starting out in a French high school, I then went to teach in-company at a German helicopter factory and worked in the UK teaching ESOL before coming back to do corporate English training in Germany.

Tell us a bit about your session.

In my session we´ll be looking at authentic materials, as in materials which were not designed to be used in ELT but which we definitely can put to good use. The aim is to explore what authentic materials are available, evaluate their effectiveness in different contexts and then share some ideas for activities that incorporate them.

Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

I´m interested in using authentic materials because it brings lessons to life and really gets learners communicating. It helps to break down the classroom walls and make the learning experience more real.

What should your audience expect to learn?

The audience will learn strategies for effectively exploiting authentic materials in their classrooms.

What are three words that sum up your session?

Interactive, practical and innovative

Which other presenter(s) are you looking forward to seeing?

One of the brilliant things about this conference is just how many outstanding presenters will be speaking at it. If I had to pick out a few though, I would say Jan Blake because I love her storytelling, Luke Meddings because I always find his talks very thought-provoking and Willy Cardoso because he usually forces me to rethink the way I do things in the classroom.

Do you blog? Tell us about it?

I blog at Business English Lesson Plans:

www.businessenglishlessonplans.wordpress.com

I post lesson plans, lesson ideas and reflections on teaching, which are all inspired by business English courses but, I´m told, can also be used in other teaching contexts.

Can we find you on Twitter or Facebook?

My Twitter handle is: @claire_hart and you can also find me on Facebook.

Have you been to Turkey before or is this your first time?

I´ve been to Turkey once before and that was when I participated in the 2011 ISTEK Conference. I enjoyed the experience so much that I wanted to come back to Turkey again this year.

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

I´m looking forward to catching up with colleagues from around the world and getting to know people I haven´t had the opportunity to meet in person before. I´m also looking forward to the open mic night, Turkish food and being back on the stunning university campus.

Leave a Reply

Fins us on Facebook

