ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Ferhat Karanfil

Introducing… Ferhat Karanfil

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Ferhat Karanfil…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

I work for a publisher. I live in Bursa. I graduated from Anadolu University . I like using social media with my students. I organize ELT conferences for schools. I enjoy teaching adults not children.

610020What is your teaching background?

I am an educational consultant for a publishing company now. I worked in Gazi and Namık Kemal University. I had my CELTA in 2012 august from International house.

I have been teaching for five years and I have been learning all my life. I really love Hazırlık students in Turkey

Tell us a bit about your session.

It will be a hands-on experience .There will be a lot of group work and audience will present at the end. We will discover what we are doing in class. My biggest message in this workshop we tied up in the nitty-gritty atomistic side language: the verb endings and the prepositions, the schwas and the falling intonation patterns. Let us keep the hold of the “whole” as well. Do not lose touch with the fact that people need to communicate with other people.

Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

I myself have the problems on the issues I am presenting. I realized that while having my CELTA this summer. When teacher asks is it true or false , a student says false and teachers look puzzled then another clever one says yes and teachers go on without questioning anything .We should be more aware of our classroom dynamics.

What should your audience expect to learn?

They will be able to recognize and question their routines in their classroom. Sometimes in our class, there is a deep silence. We cannot put up with it anyway so we will look at ‘teachery’ habits. All ideas in the workshop based on Jim Scrivener’s book “Learning Teaching”.

What are three words that sum up your session?

Habits, rapport and STT

Which other presenter(s) are you looking forward to seeing?

Jim scrivener. Actually I want to see teachers who work in remote areas of Turkey and I am sure they do a great job there.

Do you blog? Tell us about it?

I have a blog which I rarely use: ferhatkaranfil.blogspot.com

I used that blog to share worksheets and homework with my students. I follow the blogs of Özge Karaoğlu and Burcu Akyol regularly.

Can we find you on Twitter or Facebook?

On both them, yes (@frhtkrnfyl on Twitter). I feel very surprised when someone I do not know add or poke me on Facebook. If we have lots of common friends or see each other that is fine for me. I have a great ELT PLN on my twitter and Facebook. I update myself regularly thanks to social media.

Have you been to Turkey before or is this your first time?

I am from Turkey and honoured to be a Turkish citizen. We have a great ELT community here and I believe ISTEK ELT is the IATEFL of Turkey. Thanks to Burcu Akyol, last year I had a pair work activity with Scott Thornbury. Each year people are getting more excited about this event

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

Social events and practical workshops. I am looking forward to see my friends whom we have not met for a while.

Leave a Reply

Fins us on Facebook

