ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » Introducing… Ania Kozicka

Introducing… Ania Kozicka

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is Ania Kozicka…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

Hello! My name is Ania Kozicka and I am an English teacher based in my hometown – Radom in Poland. I hold a Master’s Degree in English Philology from the University of Warsaw. I have been giving talks and workshops at IATEFL Poland events and international conferences in other countries. I am particularly interested in the use of drama in the classroom. Moreover, I am a keen Spanish learner who adores books, travel, music and dance. And rollerblading!

610025What is your teaching background?

I am a freelance Pearson teacher trainer who also works with young learners in a state school and a private language school in Radom. In summer, I teach English to international students and I am Assistant Course Director at a summer school in England.

Tell us a bit about your session.

My session is entitled “ Discovering Stories in the 21st Century”. I am going to present web tools as well as traditional approaches with a twist to stories in the classroom . The main aim of my presentation is to look at various ways how to conduct a storytelling lesson and make the students engaged in the material as much as possible. Moreover, we will focus on receptive and productive skills practice in an interesting and memorable way. Examples of my students discovering stories will be presented in short videos.

Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

I love seeking various approaches how to engage my students in stories and making them benefit as much as possible from such lessons. Furthermore, as a drama fan I frequently focus on such active ways of using English by my students as it boosts their self-esteem and confidence in foreign language production.

What should your audience expect to learn?

– dust and expand their knowledge on storytelling approaches in the young learners classroom
– learn about web tools useful for using and writing stories in the classroom
– leave the session with ideas where to look for stories for their students and how to use them in an engaging and memorable way

Which other presenters are you looking forward to seeing?

The list of the presenters is very impressive and all the participants are going to have a tough nut to crack which session to choose!

I am very excited to see Jane Arnold’s presentation: her publications on affect in language teaching were my main inspiration for my BA dissertation!

Do you blog? Tell us about it?

Recently I have started a blog aniakozicka.wordpress.com . I decided to post my scripts of plays for young learners and teenagers and share them with other teachers. Currently, I am working on my version of “Titanic” (a story through children’s eyes). No bow scene there 😉 I will post it very soon and I hope my work will be useful for others who love taking advantage of drama in the classroom too.

Can we find you on Twitter or Facebook?

Yes, please say hi to me on twitter @PixieAnia or facebook https://www.facebook.com/ania.kozicka.1

Have you been to Turkey before or is this your first time?

I had a fabulous holiday in Antalya last year – I recommend this area of Turkey to anyone who is crazy about sunshine and lovely views!

As far as Istanbul is concerned, I was lucky to attend and give a workshop at ISTEK ELT conference in 2011. It was an amazing experience learning from great educators as well as socializing with them.

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

I am looking forward to meeting the amazing PLN team from Turkey and other countries as well as sharing teaching ideas with them during sessions. What is more, I’m thrilled about repeating the Bosphorus cruise on Sunday and sightseeing with Burcu on Monday! Two years ago it helped us deal with the post conference blues. Or at least postponed it a little bit! 

See you in Istanbul very soon!

Leave a Reply

