ISTEK Schools Third International ELT Conference

Home » Blog » J.J. Wilson at ISTEK 2013

J.J. Wilson at ISTEK 2013

In the lead up to the ISTEK Schools 3rd International ELT Conference, we’ll be introducing some of the presenters on the blog. Next up is J.J. Wilson…

Could you tell us a bit about yourself?

Besides family, I have two great loves in life: teaching and writing. I will be a teacher and a writer until the day I die. I’m highly privileged to work as Writer-in-residence at Western New Mexico University, U.S. They let me indulge my two loves and they don’t seem to care whether I produce fiction, textbooks, or more academic work.

What is your teaching background?

I’ve taught students of all ages from 5 to 75 and I’ve taught in Egypt, Lesotho, Colombia, the UK, Italy and the U.S. I currently teach writing and ESL methods courses to university students.

610048Tell us a bit about your session.

The session is about strategies to help students learn. It won’t be a typical ‘sage-on-the-stage’ plenary; it’ll be very practical. I hope the session will be enjoyable as well as informative.

Why are you interested in the area you’ll be presenting on?

Because at every stage in my teaching career I’ve seen that those students who are independent learners, who are curious, and who are strategic in the way they approach their education tend to be the most successful language learners.

What should your audience expect to learn?

Some theory related to learning strategies and lots of practical ideas that they can implement in class.

What are three words that sum up your session?

I won’t know until after the session!

Have you been to Turkey before or is this your first time?

This is my fourth time in Turkey. I love it here.

What other aspects of the conference are you looking forward to?

I always enjoy meeting new people, especially teachers, and seeing old friends. The social programme looks rather tempting, too.

Leave a Reply

Fins us on Facebook

